Oat and Egg White Pancakes

One of my go-to meals: wholesome and wonderfull hearty oat pancakes

As lusciously sunny as the onset of spring has been, the mornings can still be crisp and chilly.  Perfect for having one of my favourite breakfast dishes: Oat pancakes with egg whites and cottage cheese (fabulous with a side of Apple Raspberry Sauce).

This is not one of these fluffy types of pancakes (that leave you starving an hour later). These pancakes are full of flavour, hearty, substantial … and healthy.

I discovered this fabulous recipe on the below blog and only tweaked it a little (I used less egg white and added baking powder)
 http://www.thehealthyhousewife.com/2010/07/post-run-pancakes/

 

Ingredients
makes 1 serving of about 8 small pancakes

60g (1 cup) of fine oats
3 egg whites (the original recipe has 6)
110g (1 cup) cottage cheese
1 tbsp lemon zest
1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt

Recipe

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a blender and process until you have a smooth batter.
  2. Heat a frying pan and make about 8 small pancakes. Cook on both sides.


Serve with
Because the pancakes are rather hearty I would suggest serving something fruity and juicy on the side: 

  • Blueberry sauce (you can also pour the batter into the frying pan and then drop a few (frozen) blueberries into the batter).
  • Raspberry apple sauce
  • Maple syrup & cottage cheese

    Did I mention these lovely oat pancakes are high in fiber and protein...

6 comments
  1. These are so adorable! My kids would love them🙂

    • afracooking said:

      Yes, these would be fabulous for kids – tasty and so healthy!

  2. Yum! These look lovely – I love to stack my pancakes too😉 It looks very healthy too! Must try it! I never used oats to make pancakes – and they count as a superfood too! Thanks for sharing!

    • afracooking said:

      I have to say oats in pancakes are one of my favourite discoveries of the last few years. They lend this amazing natural touch of sweetness.If you like these you might also want to try this oat and banana pancake recipe that I posted a while back (I think you can tell I am a little pancake obsessed :-> )

  3. Liz said:

    I’ve always been wondering what to do with cottage cheese…what happens if I use yolks?

Leave a Reply

