Cauliflower ‘Pasta’ with Ricotta and Peas

So satisfying – so healthy: creamy cauliflower ‘pasta’

A while ago I confessed to my love affair with cauliflower – recently a new dimension unfolded itself to me: Cauliflower  “pasta”.

Do not get me wrong, I am certainly not on a crusade against carbohydrates, I simply discovered that they do not have to be a part of every meal. And cauliflower offers a beautiful alternative: cauliflower mash, tabouleh, couscous and now this cauliflower pasta.

The recipe is ever so simple. But my tip to cook this dish with focus. I have cooked this dish several times now but once I was a little sloppy (undercooked cauli, overcooked peas) and the result was a quite disappointing. I discovered that the magic in this dish lies in the comforting soft bite of the cauliflower which is reminiscent of the satisfying texture of pasta.


(from the blog stonesoup)
Serves 2

1/2 large – 1 small cauliflower
olive oil
250g frozen peas
1/2 bunch of mint (5-10g)
250g ricotta (store-bought or try this home-made version)
salt, pepper
2 handfuls of finely grated parmesan (or pecorino) cheese


  1. Bring a pot of water to the boil.
  2. Cut cauliflower into tiny florets.
  3. Simmer cauliflower about 10-12 minutes until tender. Taste regularly towards the end. The cauliflower should be soft but not mushy.
  4. Meanwhile add a little olive oil to a second sauce pan. Add the peas and cook 5-8 minutes, stirring once in a while, until tender.
  5. Drain cauliflower and add to the peas.
  6. Chop mint. Add together with ricotta, salt and pepper.
  7. Stir and taste to adjust seasoning.
  8. Sprinkle over 1/2 parmesan. Serve with remainder of parmesan on the side.

Serve with

Although you can eat the dish on its own it is even better with an extra dimension of texture. Consider:

  • Sautéed mushrooms
  • Cooked green beans
  • A crispy salad

Tips & Variations

I enjoy the combination of flavours so much I have not experimented a lot yet, but I am sure most creamy pasta sauces would work well.  I am thinking about trying

  • Carbonara Sauce
  • Pan fried cubed chicken filet. Sautéed chopped onion, mushrooms, peas, cream, grated parmesan cheese
  • Sautéed chopped onion, cubed zucchini, mushrooms, ham, cream, grated parmesan cheese
  1. m said:

    the recipe for cauliflower “pasta” is from stonesoup : )

    • afracooking said:

      Thank you so much for answering my question! I’m glad I got the chance to thank stonesoup for this fabulous recipe!

  2. Liz said:

    I think I need to stop procrastinating about cauliflower. i eat it steamed and roasted but have never tried the alternatives like ‘pasta” and mash. I think it’s long overdue!

    • afracooking said:

      I say: start with mash. It is amazing! Especially in this hot summer weather I would actually choose cauli mash over potato!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

