Spelt Yoghurt Flatbread Straight From the Fridge

Fragrant, amazing flatbread

I have already admited that I love flatbreads: naan, pita, pizza, roti, tortilla…..(I think you get the picture). But this recipe is one of the best I have come across!

Much too often I find myself craving a hot fresh flatbread. But I am also trying to teach myself healthier habits. Unfortunately it is usually the refined white flour breads that I truly enjoy. I have experimented with whole wheat, but the results never really hit the mark.

That was until this week’s discovery: Spelt Yoghurt Flatbread. Fragrant, chewy and so satisfying! Plus they take no time to whip up: you leave it to rest for a an hour to a few days, then just roll it out and throw it in a skillet (oh, and nutritionally I believe spelt is comparable to whole wheat).

 

Ingredients
(slightly adapted from Yotam Ottolenghi’s “Plenty” )
Makes 4 breads approx. 20cm diameter (5-inch)

120g spelt flour, plus extra for kneading/rolling
120g yogurt (my favourite is 0% fat Total Greek Yoghurt)
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

 

Recipe

  1. Combine all the ingredients. First with a wooden spoon and then by hand. (This is a moist dough, however if it is too sticky add a little more flour)
  2. Knead for about a minute until the dough is smooth. Do not overwork. Form a ball.
  3. Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for at least 1 hour up to a few days.
  4. When you are ready to cook the flatbread divide it into 4 balls.
  5. Dust your work surface and rolling pin with flour.
  6. Heat a skillet.
  7. Roll the first balls of dough into a f lat disk of about 20cm (5 inches).
  8. Cook on a medium hear for a few minutes until it is golden with a few dark specks.
  9. Turn and cook the other side. At the same time roll out the next bread.
  10. If you are making a few stack them to keep them hot and pliable.
  11. These flatbreads are best served straight away.

Tips & Variations

  • If you are serving this bread along something hearty like beef meatballs: throw some fennel seeds in a pestle or mortar and add them to the dough for some extra fragrance.

 

Serve with

  • Chicken Feta Meatballs
  • Or any other dish where you would use wheat tortilla to make burritos, wraps and quesadillas.

Leave a comment