Vegan Tofu Tomato and Onion Quiche

I doubt you can pack any more goodness into a quiche

I doubt you can pack any more goodness into a quiche


Autumn has arrived and outside it is grey, rainy and blustery; the perfect weather for staying inside and enjoying culinary adventures. Curled up on my comfy couch, I started thinking back to my visit to Paris a few weeks back. A special trip with many memorable experiences.  Basically I ate my way across Paris: macaroons, croissants, steak tartar, Berthillon ice cream (more macaroons) and fabulous bistro dinners. I even took a piece of Paris home with me in the shape of a quiche.

So I decided to celebrate that memory by baking a quiche. At the same time I had enough butter and cream during that trip to last me…well until my next visit to Paris. So I thought I would go for a healthier and slightly less conventional quiche. I used one of my favourite crust recipes; it comes together in no time, contains hardly any fat and uses part rye flour. But really it is the filling that transforms this quiche into a healthy little dish.

118 IMG_3667

Ingredients
(hardly altered from the blog ‘veggies on the counter’)
Two 15cm quiches (you could do one large, but I prefer a little more crust to go with the distinct flavour of the filling)

For the crust recipe click here

Roasted vegetables
350g shallots
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Olive oil
salt
4 garlic cloves, unpeeled
350g cherry tomatoes
1 tsp muscovado sugar
Tofu custard
500g firm tofu
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp (lemon) thyme
Pepper

Recipe

  1. Make the crust from this quiche recipe. It takes about 30-40 min or can be made the day ahead.
  2. Preheat oven to 200C.
  3. Cut shallots into halves or quarters. Place in a baking dish that is large enough so the pieces do not touch each other. Sprinkle with the balsamic, a little oil and salt. Toss carefully and then turn the pieces cut side up.
  4. Throw in the garlic cloves (peel and all).
  5. Cut the tomatoes in half. In a separate dish, toss the tomatoes with the sugar and a little oil.
  6. Place both dishes in the oven for 25 min.
  7. Allow to cool to room temperature.
  8. Turn the oven down to 180C.
  9. For the custard, place the tofu, balsamic, soy, lemon juice, thyme and pepper in a food processor.
  10. Add half the tomatoes (including any juice).
  11. Pick the garlic out of the oven dish, peel and add to the tofu.
  12. Process the tofu mix, taste and adjust seasoning if needed.
  13. Place the shallots on the crust.
  14. Spread the tofu on top.
  15. Carefully press the tomatoes in, cut side up.
  16. Bake 25-30 minutes until the custard is set and golden.


Serve with
A leafy salad that is full of strong flavours and textures (red capsicum, blanched green beans, spring onions etc)

118 IMG_3636

9 comments
  1. Oh, I love this! Thank you for sharing!!! 🙂

  2. Liz said:

    I totally agree with you about autumn. I wake up and it’s dark…I can’t wait for the clock to go backward, so mornings become brighter. You are certainly becoming more health conscious having eaten your way across Paris (LOL). I love quiches and this one is great especially now that my older son has turned vegetarian…I can always come here for quick recipes. Thanks for sharing!

  3. MMMMMM,…What a lovely fabulously looking vegan quiche! Yum Yum Yum!

  4. ciao! i just got back from eating my way across paris and champagne…and, as well, did not miss berthillon. i brought back a lot of champagne and sweets. your healthy recipe is a treat. will have it with a glass of champagne 🙂
    thebestdressup

    • afracooking said:

      Oh now I am just plain jealous! Santé! 🙂

  5. The quiche looks beautiful! 😉 Thanks so much for stopping by my blog, so I could discover yours – really lovely! Thanks & hugs, Sylvia

    • afracooking said:

      Thank you so much for your lovely compliment!

  6. Oh yum!!! I have been missing quiche, and was wondering how to go about making a dairy & egg free custard. I can’t wait to give this a go. Thank you 🙂

    • afracooking said:

      I was amazed by how satisfying this quiche is – and altough I still have to experiment a little more I am sure it is increadibly versatile!

Leave a comment