Cuisses de Grenouille (Frog Legs)

Tradition to some, adventure to others either way these are simple and fabulous

Tradition to some, adventure to others either way these are simple and fabulous

Do you know how frog’s legs became a traditional French delicacy?

Apparently in the 12th century Catholic monks were growing so fat that the church introduced additional days for fasting when meat was forbidden. The monks were quick to have frogs categorized as fish rather than meat, which meant they could be enjoyed without restriction. Devout peasants followed the example and the tradition of eating frog legs was born.

The first time I had frog legs I was a kid and we were having one of our rare meals out at the local Italian. The frog legs where smothered in a tomato sauce and I remember the adventurous feeling of eating them more than the actual taste. I have not had them often since so I have no idea what inspired me to google a recipe for them the other day. I was blown away to discover how easy they are to prepare. They are hardly any effort, look spectacularly exotic and taste amazing: fabulous little morsels of succulent and delicate meat.

Now I know that they are said to taste like chicken, but really…..they don’t. Especially paired with the deep flavours of grassy parsley and pungent garlic they have an earthy taste that reminds of a shallow creek.

225 IMG_7182

Ingredients
Serves 4 as a starter

500g frog legs
ca. 1/2 liter milk
30 g (2 tbsp) flour
salt, pepper
2 cloves garlic
12 sprigs of flat leaf parsley
20-40g (1-2 tbsp) butter

Recipe

  1. Defrost the frog legs in the fridge over night or for 15 min in a bowl of cold water.
  2. Place the legs in a bowl, cover with milk. Let the legs soak in the milk for 30-60 minutes (or if you have the time 8 hours…overnight…). Or if you are rushed then skip the soaking all together.
  3. Pour off the milk and dab the legs dry with kitchen paper.
  4. Place flour on a wide place and combine with salt and pepper.
  5. Heat a large frying pan.
  6. First add oil to the pan. When it is hot add the butter.
  7. Dredge the frogs in the flour, shake off excess flour.
  8. Fry the legs on medium heat for about 5 min. Flip and fry another 5 min.
  9. Mince the garlic and add when the meat is almost done.
  10. Chop theparsley. Sprinkle half over the legs and toss.
  11. Place the legs on a serving plate and sprinkle with the rest of the parsley.
  12. Serve immediately.

Serve with

  • Just some crusty  bread and a lemon wedge
  • or for a main meals you can add some fried chanterelle of blanched green beans
  • oven roast potato wedges

225 IMG_7208

32 comments
  1. PotSoup said:

    Interesting story, don’t know how I feel about eating a frog though.

    • afracooking said:

      I can imagine – I am sure many will share that sentiment. I guess to me personally there is not much difference to eating a chicken wing.

  2. I recently had my first taste of frog legs…they are delicious!

    • afracooking said:

      They really are amazing! And it is just crazy how easy they are to prepare – I cannot wait to try them with different flavours. (I found some fabulous Asian recipes I have got to try)

  3. Nandini said:

    I grew up eating frog legs….these look so yummy. I have’nt eaten them in years and It’s hard to find where I live.

    • afracooking said:

      They really should be available at every corner store that has a freezer – these are so amazingly tasty and just so easy to prepare

      • Nandini said:

        That is so true plus its white and lean meat.

  4. vanyadhanya said:

    I love frog legs and a usual style for preparing it back home is to use lots of pepper as a spice rub and then fry the legs. It is really yumm…. Your dish is very different in flavor and texture but I would love to try it out sometime….

    • afracooking said:

      I love the idea of pairing that delicate meat with powerful spices – must give it a try!

    • afracooking said:

      I went out on a limb.

    • afracooking said:

      I know exactly what you mean – it has been ages since I had them last. I have no idea what suddenly made me think to make them. But I do know for sure that I will make them again soon 🙂

  5. Wow I’m so impressed you cooked frogs legs! I’ve never even tried eating them let alone making them! They look great though

    • afracooking said:

      The amazigng thing was that they are about the simplest thing I have made in ages

    • afracooking said:

      That is so sweet of you – thank you!

  6. Liz said:

    They look most impressive, Afra. I have just never sunk my teeth into a frog leg before….your picture makes me want to try. You’ve inspired me!

    • afracooking said:

      I am so glad that these are tickeling your tastebuds – they really are such a lovely little treat!

  7. I’ve never tried frog legs before, but now I’m curious. I love the presentation!

    • afracooking said:

      With your love for traditional and elegant foods, I imagine that these are just your type of food

  8. Linda said:

    I like frog legs 🙂 I’ve had them in France, but they’re not so easy to find back in the States.

    • afracooking said:

      Thanks for dropping me a line, Linda! Frog legs are not that common in the Netherlands either but I found them at the local Asian supermarket maybe yours also carries them?!

    • afracooking said:

      Thank you so much for the lovely compliment!

  9. These are so exotic! Fact, I’ve never tried frog legs and I’ve been to do many places in Asia where they have them. I must try it soon! How gorgeously delicate & crispy these look too, definitely on my must try list!

    • afracooking said:

      You are so right to be so enthusiastic about them – these really taste amazing! I have never had them ‘Asian style’ but goggled a few recipes I really must try soon!

  10. shootingvienna said:

    I never ate frog legs in any other way than them being prepared with curry (a vietnamese friend who owns a restaurant makes them for us). I do love the taste of their flesh which I often compare with crab meat because it is so soft and lovely. Never tried to make them myself but thanks for the recipe, it does look very easy 🙂

    • afracooking said:

      Sorry for the delayed response. I must have somehow missed your comment. Reading it has reminded me that I wanted to try more things with frog legs. I have never had them “Asian” style. I must google vietnamese curries tath use them – sounds fabulous. There must be endless ways to use them. Last week I was in France and actually had them in a herb an mushroom pie. Delicious.

      • shootingvienna said:

        No problem 🙂 oh that sounds delicious, never have heard of frog legs being used in pie but I can imagine it being really good!

      • afracooking said:

        At the risk of not sounding very original, it was like having a chicken pie – but then better, because the frog meat has more bite and flavour to it

Leave a comment