Cauliflower Mash

Fluffy, creamy and so fabulously healthy!

What a discovery!!

I do did not find it easy to create meals without a side of carbohydrates – I am so used in the past I was used to going for rice, potato,  pasta or bread …

So I decided to explore alternatives, and I have to say this is one of my favourites: creamy cauliflower mash!

What I love about this dish is that is does not taste like a  “watered down” version of  something “real”.  It has a distinct flavour and texture;  it is a dish in its own right. Different – yes! But then that was exactly what I was looking for!!

By the way: I use a food processor for this mash, but I am sure that you can do this by hand using a potato masher. Although I think you might have to cook the cauli a little longer.

Ingredients
Serves 2

1 cauliflower
4-6 tbsp yoghurt (you can omit the yoghurt, if you do use it, you need a yoghurt that is not too liquid, I love using ‘Total’ 0% fat Greek yoghurt)
2 spring onions
salt
pepper
optional: nutmeg
optional: chives

 

Recipe

  1. Cut the cauliflower into small florets.
  2. Steam the cauliflower for about 10 minutes until tender. (If you do not have a steam basket you can also cook the cauli. Just make sure it is as dry as possible before mashing it).
  3. Whilst the cauli is steaming cut the spring onion into chunks and whizz in the food processor.
  4. Add the hot, tender cauli and the yoghurt (if using) and seasoning. Blend briefly. Taste and adjust seasoning / amount of yoghurt. (I do have the feeling that this dish needs quite a bit of salt).
  5. Whizz until the mash has reached the desired consistency.
  6. If using, sprinkle with chopped chives and serve immediately.

 

Tips & Variations

  • For a richer result add a 100g of grated cheese.
  • If you do no have yoghurt you could also go for butter and milk or crème fraiche.
  • Frozen cauliflower should work just as well.
  • And if all this is too extreme for you, you can also just lighten up your potato mash by replacing half with cauli.

Serve with
As this dish is very light I like paring it with a stronger tasting meat or a fleshy fish. And despite the fact that you could see this as your serving of vegetable I would always add a serving of vegetable as a side dish.

Just for some ideas:

6 comments
  1. Laura said:

    Exelent idea. Instead of the spring onions I have used chive, it turned out good as well.
    I suggest not to blender too much.

    • afracooking said:

      Thank you for leaving a comment! Glad you liked it. I can imagine that chives work really well! I will try that next time – thanks for the suggestion!

  2. Liz said:

    I have been meaning to expand my cauliflower recipes to include a mash and some rice or do they call them cauliflower pasta. Anyway I’m glad I found this creamy mash coz I’m certainly going to try it. Thanks for sharing!

    • afracooking said:

      As a kid I only really know cheese cauliflower casserole. It really has been an eyeopener to discover what you can do with cauliflower. This mash really has become one of my go-to favourites (really!!). You must give it a try!

      • Liz said:

        I certainly will. Have a lovely Sunday!

      • afracooking said:

        I thought I “was a bit busy”. But looking at how long it has taken me to get back to you, I think I have to face that it has been totally crazy lately! Thankfully I am planning a bit of holiday to unwind. Hopefully it will be a bit quieter after and I can get back to blogging and reading recipes again 

Leave a comment