Cauliflower Couscous

The simple cauliflower makes for a tasty, healthy ‘couscous’

It is official: cauliflower is my new favourite vegetable!

Who would have thought that this vegetable is so incredibly versatile.  All my life I only knew it baked with cream, eggs, cheese and ham.

Then last year it blew my mind to discovered mashed cauliflower.   A few months later I found out that raw or blanched cauli makes for a lovely tabouleh-like dish. I was convinced the humble cauli held no more secrets for me. But I was so wrong!  I present: Cauliflower couscous.

 

Ingredients
(found on the blog ‘Stone Soup‘)
Serves 2 (-4)

2 onions
1 cauliflower
2 tsp ground coriander powder
salt
pepper
2 spring onions
optional: a few pomegranate seeds
optional: a bunch of coriander leaves (cilantro)
optional: 2 handfuls of goats cheese

 

Recipe

  1. Chop the onions. Fry until soft for about 5-10 min.
  2. Grate the cauliflower on a box grated or food processor.
  3. Add to the onions together with the coriander, salt and pepper
  4. Cook whilst stirring occasionally until the cauliflower is soft and golden. About 5 min.
  5. Chop spring onions and sprinkle on top with the other ingredients you are using

 

Tips & Variations

Top with avocado, pine nuts and basil


Serve with

Leave a comment